en_flag fr_flag The Project Presentation The Music Summary Synopsis The Team Audio


The Music

Naturally central to this project, the music strives to satisfy two essential requirements, conferring in the process both strength and originality to the present adaptation.

Past and current dramatic progression told in songs:

Whether it be the illuminating, “time machine” flashbacks, or dark soul-searching of the protaganist as he sings to imaginary “fourth wall”, the true backstory of the plot against Edmond Dantes is revealed with great dramatic effect. In following the complex character and plot development of Monte Cristo’s vengeance, as well as his acts of kindness and benevolence, and their effects on other characters throughout the story, each aria has the clear motivation to propel the drama forward, as well as introducing each new character connection as the story develops.

Historical and cultural authenticity:

Each aria reflects meticulous and intensive research regarding the historical circumstances of the novel (for example, the correct historical latin in the wedding mass of Kyrie, which would have been heard in Marseille in the 1820’s and 1830’s). Not only are time and place recalled in detail, but cultural and social origins, as well as the various places where the characters originated, are faithfully represented.
As the storyline takes us from Marseille to Paris, from Italy to Ottoman Greece and Turkey, and through Catalonia and its cultural bastion in the Marseille of the 1830s, the music follows suit with historical musical references to that area. Thus we sometimes hear, via original compositions, acknowledged influences of several composers and musical genres of the day: Chopin, Schubert, traditional French ballads children’s rhymes and fairy tales, Italian and Catalan folk songs, as well as popular music from the Balkans, with authentic instrumentation and rhythmic treatment…
Such attention to time, place and cultural identity not only ground the opera in its actual historical time period, but also lend emotional depth and reality, reflecting the actual society and the characters of the time period of Dumas. All of these facets together support the opera taking on an archetypal universality that will appeal to audiences of all ages, all over the world.


  Contact us by email

en_flag fr_flag Le Projet Présentation La Musique Sommaire Synopsis L'équipe Audio

La Musique

Élément bien sûr central du projet, elle s’organise autour de deux préoccupations fondamentales, qui confèrent à la présente adaptation musicale toute sa force et son originalité.

  • Passé et progression dramatique contés en chansons 

    Que ce soit au cours du brillant flashback qui éclaire l’arrière-plan du drame, ou durant la douloureuse plongée du héros dans les abîmes de sa recherche de la vérité, la réalité du complot contre Edmond Dantès est révélée avec une grande efficacité dramatique. Accompagnant l’avancée inéluctable de la vengeance de Monte-Cristo, de même que ses actes de bonté et leurs effets sur les autres protagonistes, chaque air fait avancer à la fois la narration et le développement de tous les personnages.

  • Fidélité historique et culturelle 

    Chaque air composé ici est né d’une recherche minutieuse et intensive sur les circonstances historiques, les origines culturelles et sociales, et les différents lieux dont proviennent les personnages. Un exemple en serait le latin authentique utilisé dans le Kyrie, lors de la cérémonie interrompue de mariage, qu'on aurait pu entendre à Marseille dans les années 1820 et 1830.

    Si le récit original nous emmène de Marseille à Paris, de l’Italie à la Grèce ottomane, en passant par la Catalogne, la présente musique nous y accompagne. Nous entendrons donc, tout au long de ces pièces musicales entièrement originales, l’influence assumée d’une multitude de saveurs : Chopin, Schubert, mais aussi ballades françaises traditionnelles, chansons folkloriques italiennes et catalanes, musique populaire des balkans... ont été réinterprétés ici à partir de leur instrumentation et traitement rythmique originaux.

    Une telle exigence historique, géographique et culturelle, non seulement ancre le drame dans son époque, mais elle lui confère aussi toute sa profondeur émotionnelle et son réalisme, en reflétant la société et les personnages du siècle de Dumas. Elle résulte en une universalité qui séduira les auditoires du monde entier.



  Contactez-nous par email