en_flag fr_flag The Project Presentation The Music Summary Synopsis The Team Audio


Long Synopsis and Arias

Act One

Act One begins with a stormy moonlit night. A boat sails across the stage taking a young Edmond Dantes to the notorious prison, the Chateau D’If. The wind bemoans his fate (Guilty of Something).

Seven years pass. We find Dantes, in his prison cell, lamenting (Memories of Love). Suddenly he hears tapping from below. A stone in the floor gives way and from a secret tunnel emerges the Abbé Faria, an old priest and fellow inmate (Wait and Hope).

The Abbé questions Dantes about his past, (Edmond’s Story). Through a series of flashbacks, we learn Edmond had been first mate on the merchant ship Pharaeon. Captain Le Clarre on his death bed ordered Edmond to deliver a letter to Napoleon Bonaparte. For his loyalty Edmond is promoted to Captain by the ship’s owner Monsieur Morrel. Having been promoted Edmond rushes to his beloved Mercedes and proposes marriage (How Could I Forget You?). She accepts. Meanwhile, Dante’s happiness and success have earned him three enemies. Fernand Mondego, Eugine Danglars, and Caderousse. They plot to have Dantes arrested for treason (He Stole My Life). At the wedding (Kyrie), Dantes is arrested and brought before Monsieur De Villefort, the Deputy Prosecutor. De Villefort declares Edmond guilty and has him wrongfully imprisoned (The Interrogation).

Seven years elapse. During this time, the Abbé educates Edmond, in languages, philosophy, and swordplay. A new tunnel is dug and once it’s almost complete, the ailing Abbé, fearing his death is near, bequeaths to Edmond a map, to a hidden treasure on the island of Monte Cristo (The Treasure). The Abbé dies. Edmond secretly takes the old man’s place in the burial shroud, and is tossed into the sea, by two Jailors.

Music pulsates. Will Dantes survive? Suddenly Edmond emerges from the water. He crosses Up Stage to a trap door and descends to the treasure below. Moments later, he reemerges, transformed into the Count of Monte Cristo and vows his revenge (The Hammer Of God).

Monte Cristo, in disguise, finds Caderousse and bribes him with a large diamond for information. Caderousse tells him how Danglars became a Baron and a banker and how Mercedes married Fernand and now has a son named Albert who studies in Rome. (Caderousse’s Story). From out of the shadows enters Benedetto, a young thug, who murders Caderousse and is rewarded by the Count with the diamond.

Monte Cristo then proceeds to Rome where he befriends Albert at a Masked Carnival celebration (Grande Notte Del Mascheretta). Albert, chasing some mysterious woman, suddenly encounters bandits. Having followed the young man, Monte Cristo fights off the bandits and saves Albert’s life.

Several months later, Monte Cristo arrives in Paris and pays a visit to Baron Danglars and his wife the Baroness. He opens an account at the Baron’s bank and appoints the Baron his financial advisor (It’s Only Money). The Baroness, enchanted by the Count, plans to introduce him to Parisian Society, by throwing a lavish dance.

On the evening of the ball, the ballroom is buzzing with gossip. Who is he? (The Count Of Monte Cristo). The Count arrives with an Oriental Princess, Haydee. The Count answers questions about his past and reveals he has bought a house outside of Paris with a mysterious past. The Baroness faints and is revived with a rare curative and poison, brucine.

The next day the Count pays a visit to Fernand and Mercedes, but leaves in a hurry. Mercedes, with a sense of dread, thinks she recognizes the Count. Haydee, who is in love with the Count, enters on the opposite side of the stage. The two women sing (Could It Be Him?).

Although the Count still loves Mercedes, he is determined to fulfill his revenge (The Hammer Of God, Reprise), as the curtain descends on Act One.




Act Two

Act Two rises on a foggy morning. The Count begins to put his elaborate plans for revenge into place (The Time Has Come). He starts by introducing Baron Danglars to Benedetto, disguised as a rich Italian count. He then asks the Baron to broker two financial deals, the purchase of a newspaper company and the acquisition of Spanish Stocks. The greedy Baron decides to invest his own assets into the Spanish stocks and marry his daughter, Eugenie, to the rich young Count. Next Monte Cristo pays a visits to De Villefort’s wife Heloise. After talking about poisons he leaves his vial of Brucine on a table. Heloise ferrets the poison away. Thirdly, the Count attends an engagement party for Benedetto and Eugenie. She sings a haunting lieder (Sing Sweet Nightingale). Benedetto is accused of stealing the Baroness’ necklace and is hauled off to jail.

Days later, Monte Cristo bribes a government telegraph operator to send a false message. The news sends the Spanish stocks plummeting. Danglars decides to sell short (Sell Sell Sell).

Monte Cristo’s newspaper prints a story regarding a scandal involving Fernand. Meanwhile, De Villefort’s daughter Valentine has come into a vast fortune. She is secretly in love with Monsieur Morrel’s son Maximilian (If I Were Poor). At the end of the number she falls mysteriously ill.

The Count pays Benedetto a visit in jail. He gives the young man a dossier and tells him the information contained within will save his life.

Later that evening, while Valentine is asleep, her stepmother Heloise puts poison in the water glass. Valentine wakens from a bad dream and goes to take a sip but is stopped by the Count. He tells her of her wicked stepmother’s plot to kill her and devises a plan to save Valentine’s life. He gives her a sleeping potion that mimics death (Dream A Dream).

News arrive that the message from Spain was indeed false. Danglars’ speculations have left him bankrupt. Monte Cristo confronts Danglars who at last realizes the Count is Edmond Dantes (Who Are You?).
Albert arrives to avenge his father’s slander. Danglars explains that Monte Cristo owns the newspaper. Albert leaves and Danglars commits suicide.

Benedetto is brought to trial. When he is questioned by De Villefort, the court is shocked to learn that the young man is the illegitimate son of De Villefort and Baroness Danglars (Benedetto’s Story).

De Villefort returns home to find his daughter supposedly dead. The Count exposes Heloise as her murderess (Brucine). De Villefort, in a rage, strangles his wife. Monte Cristo revives Valentine with an antidote. De Villefort goes insane (What Have I Done?).

Across town, Haydee gives testimony against Fernand. In song and dance we watch her story unfold (Haydee’s Story). While he served in the army, Fernand murdered Haydee’s father, and had Haydee and her mother sold into slavery. 

Albert tracks down Monte Cristo and challenges him to a duel. Mercedes visit’s the Count and begs him to spare her son (How Could I Forget You? Reprise). He tries to justify himself in her eyes (The Hammer Of God, Reprise). After she leaves, he decides to sacrifice himself.

Early the next morning, the duel commences. Albert, having learned the truth from his Mother, cannot bring himself to kill the Count. Fernand enters and takes up arms against the Count. A climactic sword fight ensues ending in Fernands’ death (The Duel).

Monte Cristo returns to Mercedes and begs her forgiveness (Guilty, Reprise). Her advise to him is to “wait and hope”. He comes to realize that revenge was not the answer (What Have I Done, Reprise). He realizes he must use the treasure for good (The Treasure, Reprise). With Haydee by his side he comes to understand the true meaning of (Wait And Hope, Reprise). 

The curtain descends.

THE END

 

  Contact us by email

en_flag fr_flag Le Projet Présentation La Musique Sommaire Synopsis L'équipe Audio


Synopsis Détaillé et Arias

Acte I

L’Acte I s’ouvre sur une nuit de tourmente éclairée par la lune. Un bateau traverse la scène, emmenant le jeune Edmond Dantès vers la fameuse prison du Château d’If. Le vent furieux semble plaindre son destin (Guilty Of Something).

Sept ans ont passé. Nous retrouvons Dantès se lamentant dans sa cellule (Memories Of Love). Il entend soudain des coups semblant provenir de sous sa cellule. Une pierre se soulève, et d’un tunnel secret émerge l’abbé Faria, vieux prêtre et compagnon de captivité (Wait And Hope).

L’abbé Faria interroge Edmond Dantès sur son passé (Edmond’s Story). À travers une série de flashbacks, nous apprenons qu’Edmond a été le second du navire marchand le Pharaon. Sur son lit de mort, le capitaine Leclère a ordonné à Edmond de faire halte sur l’île d’Elbe et de remettre une lettre a l'empereur captif, Napoléon. Monsieur Morel, l’armateur du Pharaon, décide alors de nommer Edmond capitaine du navire, pour le récompenser de sa loyauté. Après avoir entendu l’annonce de sa promotion, Edmond se hâte d’aller rendre visite à sa bien-aimée, Mercédès, et lui fait sa demande en mariage. Elle accepte (How Could I Forget You?). Entre-temps, le bonheur et le succès de Dantès lui valent la haine de trois ennemis : Fernand Mondego, Danglars et Caderousse. Ils conspirent en vue de faire arrêter Edmond Dantès pour trahison (He Stole My Life). Laissant la cérémonie de mariage inachevée (Kyrie), Dantès est arrêté et conduit devant le subsitut du procureur du roi, M. de Villefort. Ce dernier décide de faire enfermer Edmond après l’avoir d’abord déclaré innocent (The Interrogation).

Sept années ont de nouveau passé. Durant tout ce temps, l’abbé Faria a éduqué Edmond, dans les domaines de la philosophie, des langues, de l’escrime. Ils ont poursuivi la construction d’un tunnel dans l’espoir de s’échapper. Mais alors que celui-ci est presque achevé, l’abbé Faria, souffrant, réalisant que la fin est proche, remet à Edmond la carte d’un trésor caché sur l’île de Monte-Cristo (The Treasure). L’abbé meurt. Edmond prend sa place dans le linceul du vieil homme, et deux gardiens le jettent à la mer.

La musique hésite. Edmond Dantès survivra-t-il ? Soudain, il émerge des eaux. Il traverse le devant de la scène jusqu’à une trappe, et descend jusqu’au trésor dissimulé sous la scène. Quelques moments plus tard il émerge à nouveau, transfiguré en Comte de Monte-Cristo, et jure de se venger de ses ennemis (The Hammer Of God).

Monte-Cristo, déguisé, retrouve et soudoie Caderousse à l’aide d’un diamant pour obtenir des informations. Caderousse lui apprend comment Danglars est devenu baron, et propriétaire de la plus grande banque du pays ; comment Mercédès est devenue l’épouse de Fernand, et la mère du jeune Albert de Morcef, qui étudie à Rome (Caderousse’s Story). Benedetto, jeune voyou, sort de l’ombre et assassine Caderousse. Monte-Cristo lui tend le diamant en guise de récompense.

Monte-Cristo se rend à Rome, où il se lie d’amitié avec Albert de Morcef au cours de la fête de Carnaval (Grande Notte Del Mascheretta). Dans la cohue, Albert se retrouve aux prises avec des brigands qui menacent de le tuer, mais le Comte de Monte-Cristo intervient, disperse les attaquants, et sauve la vie d’Albert.

Plusieurs mois plus tard, Monte-Cristo arrive à Paris, où il rend visite au baron et à la baronne Danglars. Il ouvre un compte dans la banque de Danglars, et choisit ce dernier comme conseiller financier (It’s Only Money). La baronne, séduite par le comte, prévoit de le présenter à la société parisienne en donnant un somptueux bal.

Le soir du bal, le salon bruisse de commérages sur Monte-Cristo : qui est-il ?... (The Count Of Monte Cristo). Le comte arrive, accompagné d’une princesse orientale, Haydée. Il répond aux questions sur son passé, et annonce qu’il a acheté, aux environs de Paris, une maison au passé mystérieux. La baronne s’évanouit, et un produit rare, à la fois cure et poison, est utilisé pour lui faire reprendre connaissance : la brucine.

Le lendemain, Monte-Cristo rend visite à Fernand et Mercédès de Morcef, mais prend congé d’eux précipitamment. Mercédès, emplie d’angoisse, pense avoir reconnu le comte. Entre-temps Haydée, qui est amoureuse de Monte-Cristo, entre de l’autre côté de la scène. Chacune de son côté, les deux femmes s’interrogent sur cet homme mystérieux (Could It Be Him?).

Malgré son amour toujours ardent pour Mercédès, Monte-Cristo affirme qu’il est toujours déterminé à mener à bien sa vengeance, tandis que le rideau descend (The Hammer Of God, Reprise).


Acte II

L’Acte II débute par une matinée brumeuse. Monte-Cristo s’apprête à mettre en branle le plan qu’il a élaboré pour se venger (The Time Has Come). Il commence par présenter le baron Danglars à Benedetto, qu’il fait passer pour un riche comte italien. Il demande ensuite au baron de négocier pour lui deux marchés financiers, l’acquisition d’une entreprise de presse et l’achat d’actions espagnoles. Danglars, alléché par la perspective de bénéfices juteux, décide d’investir ses propres fonds dans les actions espagnoles, et de marier sa fille Eugénie au jeune comte italien. La seconde visite de Monte-Cristo est pour Héloïse, la femme de Villefort. À la suite d’une conversation éclairée portant sur le poison, il prend congé en laissant sur une table un flacon de brucine. Héloïse s’en empare. Puis Monte-Cristo se rend aux festivités célébrant les fiançailles d’Eugénie et de Benedetto. Eugénie exécute un lied poignant (Sing Sweet Nightingale). Benedetto est alors accusé d’avoir dérobé le collier de la baronne et il est traîné en prison.

Quelques jours plus tard, Monte-Cristo soudoie un employé du télégraphe, et le convainc d’envoyer des nouvelles provenant prétendument d’Espagne. Ces dernières provoquent l’effondrement du cours des actions espagnoles. Danglars décide de vendre rapidement ses actions, même à perte (Sell Sell Sell).

Le journal acquis par Monte-Cristo publie une histoire révélant un scandale qui met en cause Fernand de Morcef. Entre-temps Valentine, fille de Villefort et héritière d’une immense fortune, est secrètement amoureuse de Maximilien Morrel, fils de l’ancien armateur du Pharaon (If I Were Poor). Elle tombe mystérieusement malade.

Monte-Cristo rend visite à Benedetto dans sa prison. Il remet un dossier au jeune homme, en lui disant que les informations qu’il contient peuvent lui sauver la vie.

Plus tard ce soir-là, Héloïse verse du poison dans le verre qui se trouve sur la table de chevet de sa belle-fille Valentine, endormie. Dans la nuit, cette dernière se réveille d’un mauvais rêve. Alors qu’elle tend la main pour prendre son verre d’eau, elle en est empêchée par Monte-Cristo, introduit mystérieusement dans sa chambre. Monte-Cristo révèle à Valentine les intentions meurtrières de sa belle-mère, et lui confie son plan pour lui sauver la vie. Il lui demande de boire une potion qui lui donnera toutes les apparences de la mort (Dream A Dream).

On apprend que le message venant d’Espagne était faux. Danglars est ruiné. Monte-Cristo le confronte, et Danglars finit par reconnaître en lui Edmond Dantès (Who Are You?).

Albert de Morcef survient, demandant réparation de l’insulte faite à son père. Danglars lui explique que le journal appartient au comte de Monte-Cristo. Albert se retire et Danglars se suicide.

Le procès de Benedetto s’ouvre. Questionné par de Villefort, Benedetto fait sensation en révélant qu’il est l’enfant naturel de la baronne Danglars et du procureur, et que ce dernier avait tenté de faire disparaître l’enfant en l’enterrant vivant (Benedetto’s Story).

De Villefort rentre chez lui pour apprendre que sa fille Valentine vient de mourir. Monte-Cristo intervient et dénonce Héloïse comme la meurtrière (Brucine). Dans un accès de rage, de Villefort étrangle sa femme. Monte-Cristo réveille Valentine à l’aide d’une antidote. Villefort devient fou (What Have I Done?).

A l’autre bout de la ville, Haydée témoigne dans l’enquête sur les accusations portées contre Fernand. L’histoire d’Haydée est contée en musique et danse : elle révèle comment Fernand, alors soldat, avait assassiné son père Ali Pacha, et comment il les avait vendues comme esclaves, elle et sa mère (Haydee’s Story).

Albert poursuit Monte-Cristo et le provoque en duel. Mercédès rend visite au comte et le supplie d’épargner son fils (How Could I Forget You? Reprise). Monte-Cristo essaye de se justifier à ses yeux (The Hammer Of God, Reprise). Après le départ de Mercédès, il décide de se sacrifier.

Le lendemain à l’aube, le duel commence. Albert, qui a appris toute la vérité par sa mère, ne peut se résoudre à tuer Monte-Cristo. Mais Fernand entre et attaque le comte. Un duel féroce s’engage alors et Fernand est tué (The Duel).

Monte-Cristo retourne auprès de Mercédès et la supplie de lui pardonner (Guilty, Reprise). Mercédès lui conseille d’attendre et d’espérer. Il réalise que la vengeance n’était pas la réponse adéquate (What Have I Done, Reprise), et qu’il doit utiliser le trésor de l’abbé Faria pour faire le bien (The Treasure, Reprise). Avec Haydée à ses côtés, il comprend enfin le vrai sens de la leçon de Faria (Wait And Hope, Reprise).

Le rideau tombe.

FIN


  Contactez-nous par email